Centre of research

Enhancement and preservation of the heritage created by the wine-growing mountain and steep
The CERVIM is an international organization created in 1987 under the auspices of 'OIV, the Office International de la Vigne et du Vin, today Organization Internationale de la Vigne et du Vin.

At the center regions and join regional organizations, national and foreign, by the union for the use and protection of mountain viticulture.

The center, governed by the law of the Autonomous Region of Valle d'Aosta No 17, 18 August 2004, is based in Valle d'Aosta and operates always promoting studies, research and conferences and ensuring its presence in all institutions and industry where you face problems related to viticulture, becoming the guarantor of the interests of The Mountain Viticoltura and steep.

Characteristics of vineyards represented

The cultivation of the vine in mountain areas, steep slopes or in small islands presents unique characteristics
The features that share the areas associated with CERVIM and which is based on the recognition of "heroic vineyards" are as follows:
  • orographic conditions that create impediments to mechanization ù
  • from small vineyards, not always contiguous and in many cases the presence of terraces
  • farms from operating space contained
  • prevalence of entrepreneurship is not a principal need for major economic investment in the event of a reformulation of modern viticulture
  • climatic conditions not always optimal (eg water needs)
  • differentiated type of grapes, wine production with outside world models (niche products)
  • vineyards, geographically highly valued landscapes and tourist

The regions participating in the CERVIM

The CERVIM representing different regions and regional organizations in Europe
CERVIM are associated to the regions that are on their territory, a mountain viticulture, or in similar conditions:
Valle d'Aosta, Lombardy, Piedmont, Liguria, Sicily, Autonomous Province of Bolzano, Autonomous Province of Trento, Canton Valais in Switzerland, Galicia in Spain, the Douro in Portugal, Rhineland-Palatinate in Germany.
We also join regional organizations that represent Abruzzo in Italy, the Wachau and Styria in Austria, Banyuls and Collioure-Rhônes-Alpes in France, Ticino in Switzerland and 'Appalachian State in North Carolina for the United States.

The CERVIM has its headquarters in Valle d'Aosta, a region located in the heart of Europe.